If you’ve purchased (aka “adopted”) a sick animal from Love to Live Animal Rescue in New Jersey, you have options.
The New Jersey Pet Purchase Protection law states:
56:8-95. Deceptive practice; minimum standards
h. If at any time within 14 days after the sale and delivery of an animal to a consumer, the animal becomes sick or dies and a veterinarian certifies, within the 14 days after the date of purchase of the animal by the consumer, that the animal is unfit for purchase due to a non-congenital cause or condition, or that the animal died from causes other than an accident, the consumer is entitled to the recourse described in subsection i. of this section.
For information on applying for restitution for sick animals, see the NJ Department of Consumer Affairs bulletin.